Page Menu

Our Current Governing Body

Our Governors work closely with our headteacher, school staff and representatives from the local authority (LA) and Church of England Diocese. Please see below for details of the Governors at our school.

Governors make regular visits to the school, both formally and informally. A record of the visits is kept by the Head Teacher. Below is a document detailing specific School Governor responsibilities, terms of office and the Governing Body sub-committee representation. It also includes attendance at meetings.

Annual Governance Statement for the Governing Body 2016

Current Governing Body

NameTypeTerm of office
Term of Office
Committees and responsibilities
(Chair - bold)
Jan 2015
August 2016
Mrs Jane Proud

01.01.2015Every Child Matters, Finance4 of 4
Mr John Kirk
Co-opted01.01.201531.12.2018Chair of Governing Body, Appeals, Every Child Matters,
Finance, Personnel
3 of 5
Rev’d David Tully
Foundation02.10.2009Every Child Matters, First/Pay Review,
Personnel, Appeals,
1 of 3
Mrs Sian AtkinsonCo-opted01.01.201531.12.18Every Child Matters, Finance3 of 3
Mr Ian Veitch
Local Authority16.10.201215.10.2016Appeals, Finance, Headteachers Performance2 of 3
Mr David Alps
Co-opted21.01.201420.01.2018Every Child Matters
Finance, First/Pay Review, Headteachers Performance, Personnel
4 of 4
Mr Neil Cunningham
Co-opted04.04.201403.04.2018Every Child Matters
Finance, First/Pay Review
2 of 2
Mrs Claire Mumford
Parent27.11.201326.11.2017Every Child Matters, First/Pay Review
Headteachers Performance
1 of 2
Mrs Gillian Grant
Parent27.11.201326.11.2017Every Child Matters, Appeals,2 of 2
Rev’d Judith Ashurst

Foundation01.09.2016Every Child Matters2 of 2
Mrs Shelley SweeneyParent


Register of Governors Interest

Governor NameBusiness InterestOther Establishments GovernedRelationships with staff / members of the governing bodyDate
Mrs Jane ProudNoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Mr John KirkNoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Rev’d David TullyNoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Mrs Sian AtkinsonNoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Mr Ian Veitch
NoneHead Teacher - Park View AcademyNoneSeptember 2016
Mr David Alps
NoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Mr Neil Cunningham
NoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Mrs Claire MumfordNoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Mrs Gillian Grant
NoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Rev’d Judith Ashurst

NoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016
Mrs Shelley SweeneyNoneNoneNoneSeptember 2016


The Constitution of Governing Bodies of Maintained Schools (Updated Aug 2015)

More about being a School Governor

If you require further information on the roles and responsibilities of School Governors or you are interested in becoming one, visit the Durham County Council website School Governor section.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *